This brightened my day..

Have you ever seen something so breathtaking,  so beautiful and so out of the blue that your first thought is of a departed loved one?   I had that experience a few days ago.  It was early morning and I was headed into work.   It had been snowing hard the day previously and the clouds were still pretty thick in the sky.    All except one area that glowed so brightly it almost looked like a beam.   I took out my ipod and started snapping photos,  hoping that a picture would do what I was looking at justice.   I took a lot of pictures driving up the hill and I will post them all,  because all of them are different if even slightly and just as beautiful as the next.   The first thing that came to mind was my sister,  then my mom.    I had always found comfort in thinking that if there was any possible way our departed loved ones could watch over us that they would find a way.    It would be subtle,   but it would be there if you were ready or  able to notice it.    Something similar to that happened shortly after Cindi’s funeral a few years back.   She had always loved white butterflies.  In my hometown they are everywhere as it is, but that week that we were planning her service right up until we left the chapel after the gathering I saw them everywhere.    Her oldest son made the same comment too  “Mom always liked these white butterflies,  I’m seeing them everywhere I go!”   I felt that if Cindi had any way of letting us know that she was there watching over us,  she would do it in a way like this.   Something subtle, yet comforting and peaceful.      Wishful thinking?     Maybe… but isn’t that a simply wonderful  thought?     And even if that bright ray of pink light wasn’t something specifically for me that morning,  it’s still nice to think that maybe it is meant for someone else in order to brighten their day.  All I know is  it brightened my day.     I don’t know,  maybe I’m just reading too much into things,  I’ve always been a real dreamer but I’m proud of that.

IMG_0060 IMG_0061 IMG_0059 IMG_0058 IMG_0062 IMG_0063 IMG_0064 IMG_0065 IMG_0066

Leave a Reply

