VPOTD 20 January 2015

Lion Country Safari.    Long since extinct from Southern California but it stood proudly in Irvine for 14 years before it finally closed to make way for a water park.  I was soooo young back then but I do remember vaguely sitting in a hot car riding with my parents as they tried to point out lions and tigers in the distance.  I never remembered the animals being like the ones in the brochure.   They were always sleeping soundly underneath shade somewhere in the distance.   Maybe that’s why they eventually shut down,  too many people getting out of their cars in search of their photo op with the Bengal tiger or elephant with baby.    Wouldn’t surprise me at all!

So, the history about this picture is that is my mom and sister.    My mom’s hair was pretty wild back then but from what I remember that was the in style.  If you watch any of those vintage ‘Match Game’ episodes on GSN from the mid to late 70’s just about every woman that comes on there has a high hairdo.  I know mom Aqua Netted her hair practically to death.    I never related that smell as hair spray,  it was more ‘mom smells’ since she used it so much.   On this day my dad and I had taken a separate jeep in front of them and we were waiting for my mom and sister to catch up.   As soon as they came out of the tunnel behind them mom threw up her pointing finger as if to say “oh no you AREN’T taking my picture!”    *click*   Dad went rogue and snapped a picture anyway.. hence this funny moment 🙂    Mom was always pretty hyper critical of my dad.   She loved to pick at him when people were around as sort of an attention seeking joke.   I didn’t realize it was wrong or that it really affected me until I caught myself doing it to my husband.   I can proudly say that once I figured that out I never did it again,   kids are sponges.. they soak in anything they see.     But back on topic.. this picture was taken at Lion Country Safari sometime in the 70’s and much to my mother’s dismay judging by the look on her face.   hah.. poor mom 🙂  at least my sister is smiling.

IMG_1582

Leave a Reply

