Playbill

Meet the people playbill front

So I am really excited to share this!    I’ll do it in parts though since there are a few pages to this whole playbill.   My grandparents were part of vintage Los Angeles high society.  My grandfather owned and worked at a printing press company in Downtown Torrance, and my grandmother was a homemaker.  Back then it was unheard of for the woman to work,  so my grandma  took her job in the home very seriously.   They liked nice things and loved to travel and see plays.   This is a playbill for “Meet the People” which debuted at the Hollywood Playhouse at around 1940.  The paper has that old/brittle and crispy feel so I had to scan it very carefully.  Now it sits in a plastic sleeve so it doesn’t crumble.  I’m surprised this is in such good condition after all these years.   Shows how well my family took care of these precious odds and ends of their lives.   Just looking at the front page of this Playbill you see a lot of various interesting things.   For example.. the safety brief at the top so you can prepare yourself in case of a fire during the performance (WALK, do not run to the nearest exit!)  Also the advertisement for the  ‘complete dinner for $0.60’ at the French Cuisine restaurant at the bottom.  And in an air conditioned dining room at that!  Luxury at its finest!     Who can even fathom paying that little for a complete meal?   Would five cents back then have been considered a generous tip to your wait staff?  ” Here’s three quarters,  keep the change and buy yourself something nice!”   There’s a name in the cast of characters that may ring a bell for some people.
Jack Albertson, otherwise known as Grandpa Joe in the original 1970’s version of “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”!  Who could forget the famous ‘fizzy lifting drink’ scene in the movie when Grandpa Joe and Charlie had to burp their way down to get away from the spinning fan on the ceiling?   I always thought Mr. Albertson was only in movies,  but after doing some research I learned that way before that, he was in several theatrical productions from 1940-1950.   Who would have though that?    I can’t even picture what a young singing Jack Albertson would look like,  but my grandparents got to see him when they attended this musical.

I have never personally seen Meet the People nor do I really know what it is about.  If any of my readers has any input I would love to hear it.

Next page to be uploaded and shared soon!  😀   Thanks so much for reading this and I hope you return soon.  I do have so much to share/review and this is proving to be a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

